vacancies advertise contact news tip The Vault
facebook rss twitter

Review: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 SSC

by Parm Mann on 21 August 2015, 15:00

Tags: EVGA, NVIDIA (NASDAQ:NVDA)

Quick Link: HEXUS.net/qactva

Add to My Vault: x

Test Methodology

EVGA GeForce GTX 950 SSC Specification


GPU Comparisons

Graphics Card GPU Cores Base Clock
(MHz)
Boost Clock
(MHz)
Memory Size
(MB)
Memory Clock
(MHz)
Memory Bus
(bits)
Graphics Driver
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 680 OC 1,536 1,072 1,137 2,048 6,008 256 353.62
Asus GeForce GTX 960 Strix 1,024 1,253 1,317 2,048 7,200 128 353.62
EVGA GeForce GTX 950 SSC 768 1,190 1,393 2,048 6,612 128 355.65
Asus GeForce GTX 950 Strix OC 768 1,165 1,355 2,048 6,612 128 355.65
Asus GeForce GTX 750 Ti OC 640 1,072 1,150 2,048 5,400 128 353.62
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 2,048 925 N/A 3,072 5,500 384 15.7.1
Sapphire Radeon R7 370 Nitro 1,024 985 N/A 4,096 5,600 256 15.7.1

HEXUS Graphics Test Bench

Hardware Components HEXUS Review Product Page
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K (quad-core, overclocked up to 4.40GHz) June 2013 Intel.com
CPU Cooler Noctua NH-D15 April 2014 Noctua.at
Motherboard Asus Z97-A May 2014 Asus.co.uk
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro (2x8GB) DDR3 @ 1,866MHz - Corsair.com
Power Supply Corsair AX760i - Corsair.com
Primary Storage Device Crucial M500 240GB SSD July 2013 Crucial.com
Secondary Storage Device SK hynix Canvas SC300 512GB SSD June 2015 SKhynix.com
Chassis Corsair Graphite Series 600T October 2010 Corsair.com
Monitor Philips Brilliance 4K Ultra HD LED (288P6LJEB/00) - Philips.co.uk
Operating system Windows 10 (64-bit) October 2012 Microsoft.com

Benchmark Suite

Synthetic Benchmarks
3DMark Fire Strike and Fire Strike Extreme
Gaming Benchmarks and Settings
Alien: Isolation SMAA-T2x, Maximum Quality
BioShock Infinite AA Enabled, Ultra Preset inc. Depth of Field
Grand Theft Auto V FXAA, 16xAF, Very High Quality
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Ultra Quality Preset
Tomb Raider FXAA, Ultra Quality Preset
Total War: Rome II Extreme Preset
The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt High Quality Preset
General Benchmarks
Power Consumption To emulate real-world usage scenarios, we record system-wide mains power draw both when idle and while playing Grand Theft Auto V.
Temperature To emulate real-world usage scenarios, we record GPU core temperature both when idle and while playing Grand Theft Auto V.
Noise A PCE-318 meter is used to record noise levels when idle and while playing Grand Theft Auto V.
Overclocking Maintaining out-the-box voltage, we increase the card's power target and aim for an optimal balance of core and memory overclock. With the heightened frequencies in place, the 3DMark, Grand Theft Auto V and The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt tests are re-run at QHD settings.

Notes

To minimise the impact of any CPU bottlenecks, our test platform is configured with a quad-core Intel Core i7-4770K processor overclocked at up to 4.4GHz and 16GB of Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 memory set to run at 1,866MHz using the built-in XMP profile.

For our midrange benchmark suite, we have an array of games tested at FHD (1,920x1,080) and QHD (2,560x1,440) resolutions. Where applicable, any vendor-specific enhancements such as PhysX and TressFX are disabled to help even the playing field. In-game benchmark results are recorded as minimum and average frames per second.