vacancies advertise contact news tip The Vault
facebook rss twitter

Review: Synology DS115

by Parm Mann on 6 February 2015, 12:00

Tags: Synology

Quick Link: HEXUS.net/qacoqs

Add to My Vault: x

Test Methodology

Network Storage Configurations

 
Synology DS115
CPU
1.30GHz Marvell Armada CP (dual-core)
2.00GHz Intel Celeron J1900 (quad-core, 2MB cache)
0.80GHz Marvell Armada 375 88F6720 (dual-core)
1.20GHz Mindspeed Comcerto C2200 (dual-core)
1.00GHz APM 86491 SoC (single-core, 256KB L2 cache)
1.86GHz Intel Atom D2550 (dual-core, 1MB cache)
0.65GHz Mindspeed Comcerto C2000 (dual-core)
Memory
512MB DDR3
8GB DDR3L
512MB DDR3
512MB DDR3
1GB DDR3
2GB DDR3
256MB DDR3
Disk Drives
4x 1TB Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 (included)
4x 4TB WD Red WD40EFRX (optional)
1x 4TB WD Red WD40EFRX (optional)
4x 4TB WD Red WD40EFRX (optional)
4x 4TB WD Red WD40EFRX (optional)
5x 1TB Samsung HD103SJ
(optional)
1x 2TB WD Red WD20EFRX (included)
RAID Mode
RAID 5
RAID 5
N/A
RAID 5
RAID 5
RAID 5
N/A
Network Connection
Gigabit Ethernet
Gigabit Ethernet
Gigabit Ethernet
Gigabit Ethernet
Gigabit Ethernet
Gigabit Ethernet
Gigabit Ethernet
Current Price (inc. VAT)
£460
£580
£125
£265
£220
£350
£110

Test Client

Hardware Components HEXUS Review Product Page
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K (quad-core, up to 3.900GHz) June 2013 Intel.com
CPU Cooler Noctua NH-D15 April 2014 Noctua.at
Motherboard Asus Z97-A May 2014 Asus.com
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance LP (1x4GB) DDR3 @ 1,600MHz August 2011 Corsair.com
Power Supply Corsair AX760i - Corsair.com
Storage Device Crucial M500 240GB SSD July 2013 Crucial.com
Chassis Corsair Graphite Series 600T October 2010 Corsair.com
Monitor Philips Brilliance 4K Ultra HD LED (288P6LJEB/00) - Philips.co.uk
Operating system Windows 8.1 (64-bit) October 2012 Microsoft.com

Benchmarks

File Copy Test (8.83GB)
Intel NAS Performance Toolkit v1.7.1
Power Consumption

Notes

All of our comparison NAS servers are tested using a single Gigabit Ethernet link with Jumbo frames disabled, and are connected to our client machine and network via a Netgear GS108 switch.

Taking a look at a basic usage scenario, our file copy test involves moving a mixed assortment of files totalling 8.83GB in size from our client to the NAS. The result is recorded in MB/s.

Our second benchmark - NAS Performance Toolkit, developed by Intel - is a file-system exerciser specifically designed to provide performance comparisons between NAS devices. Intel's utility focuses on user-level performance using real-world workload traces gathered from typical digital home applications such as HD video playback and record. Intel NASPT reproduces the file-system traffic observed in various traces onto a chosen storage device and records performance in MB/s.

Last but not least, we measure NAS power draw during three states; under load, idle and standby mode if applicable.

Readers should note that our usual hard drives - 1TB Samsung HD103SJs - have bitten the dust. 4TB WD Red hard drives (model WD40EFRX) have been introduced as a replacement and these drives will be used in all future NAS reviews. The Qnap TS-453 Pro, Synology DS115, Synology DS414j and Thecus N4310 are the first units to be tested with the revised WD Red configuration.

We've kept benchmark results from multi-bay NAS units, but of course it's the single-bay comparison we're interested in seeing: Synology DS115 vs. WD My Cloud. The hardware suggests that the former will be comfortably quicker, so let's see if the benchmarks concur.