vacancies advertise contact news tip The Vault
facebook rss twitter

Review: Raijintek Morpheus

by Ryan Martin on 13 November 2014, 13:00

Quick Link: HEXUS.net/qacla5

Add to My Vault: x

Testing methodology

To put the VGA cooler performance into perspective we're benchmarking against the standard reference cooler using a high-end Intel Haswell test platform. A detailed description of the GPU cooler being reviewed, our test platform and all comparison coolers can be found in the tables below.

Raijintek Morpheus

GPU compatibility Nvidia GeForce GTX 650, 650Ti, 660, 660Ti, 680, 760, 770, 780, 780Ti
AMD Radeon HD 7850, 7870XT, R9 270, 270X, 290, 290X
Specs Dimensions 254mm (L) x 98mm (W) x 44mm (H)
Materials

Base: Mirror Copper Base

Fin: Aluminium Alloy

Weight 515g

HEXUS GPU Cooler Test Bench

Hardware Components HEXUS Review Product Page
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K (quad-core, overclocked up to 4.40GHz) June 2014 Intel.com
Motherboard Asus Z97-A May 2014 Asus.com
Memory 16GB GeIL EVO Veloce (2x8GB) DDR3 @ 1866MHz September 2012 Geil.com.tw
Graphics Card EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 780 Ti (3GB) November 2013 Geforce.com
Power Supply Corsair AX760i - Corsair.com
Storage Device Hynix SH910A 256GB SSD August 2014 SKHynix.com
Chassis Corsair Graphite Series 600T October 2010 Corsair.com
Monitor Philips Brilliance 4K Ultra HD LED (288P6LJEB/00) - Philips.co.uk
Operating system Windows 8.1 (64-bit) October 2012 Microsoft.com

Benchmark Process

We test with an EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti reference card. It's run at stock speeds and also overclocked by pushing it as far as it will go on the core whilst still able to produce a clean run of 3DMark. The same procedure is adopted with the Morpheus on top.

We also run another set of tests with the overclocked card's power limit turned up to maximum (120%), to enable more wattage to be supplied to the GPU.

Memory, too, is overclocked for both the reference and Morpheus-cooled card.

Notes

To our slight surprise, the reference cooler and Morpheus managed the same overclocked speed of 1,101MHz core, boosting to a presumed 1,153MHz. Memory speed increased from 7,000MHz to 7,850MHz in both cases, as well.

So while the Morpheus is not able to clock the card in higher, lower temperatures should enable the card to boost to higher frequencies. We ran 3DMark and our BioShock Inifnite benchmarks to see if the Morpheus could tease out a small advantage.