vacancies advertise contact news tip The Vault
facebook rss twitter

Review: Fractal Design Meshify 2

by Parm Mann on 11 November 2020, 14:01

Tags: Fractal Design

Quick Link: HEXUS.net/qaepj2

Add to My Vault: x

Test Methodology

Comparison Chassis

Chassis HEXUS Review Reviewed Price Product Page
be quiet! Pure Base 500 September 2019 £85 bequiet.com
be quiet! Pure Base 500DX April 2020 £90 bequiet.com
Corsair 110R October 2019 £55 corsair.com
Corsair 4000D Airflow September 2020 £80 corsair.com
Deepcool CL500 August 2020 £80 deepcool.com
Deepcool Gamer Storm Macube 310P January 2020 £70 gamerstorm.com
Fractal Design Define 7 February 2020 £145 fractal-design.com
Fractal Design Define 7 Compact June 2020 £107 fractal-design.com
Fractal Design Meshify 2 November 2020 £129 fractal-design.com
MSI MPG Sekira 100R October 2020 £120 msi.com
NZXT H510 Elite November 2019 £150 nzxt.com
Thermaltake V250 TG ARGB May 2020 £70 thermaltake.com

HEXUS Chassis Test Bench

Hardware Components HEXUS Review Product Page
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X March 2017 amd.com
CPU Cooler Fractal Design Celsius S24 May 2017 fractal-design.com
Motherboard MSI X370 XPower Gaming Titanium - msi.com
Memory G.Skill Flare X 16GB DDR4 May 2017 gskill.com
Graphics Card Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ Limited Edition April 2017 sapphiretech.com
Power Supply be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 (750W) May 2015 bequiet.com
Storage Device Corsair 240GB Force Series MP500 M.2 SSD - corsair.com
Monitor iiyama ProLite X4071UHSU-B1 January 2016 iiyama.com
Operating System Windows 10 - microsoft.com

Notes

Our test platform is based around an all-AMD combination of Ryzen 7 1800X and Radeon RX 580. AMD's eight-core, 16-thread processor is stock clocked and installed beneath a Fractal Design Celsius S24 liquid cooler.

The CPU is joined by 16GB of G.Skill Flare X DDR4 memory operating at 2,400MHz, while the Radeon RX 580 GPU is provided by Sapphire in Nitro+ Limited Edition guise. Power for the entire system comes courtesy of a 750W be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 supply. Do note that we attempted to run multiple memory kits at higher speeds, but were unable to maintain stability on this particular X370 platform, hence the 3,200MHz G.Skill kit operating at 800MHz less than advertised.

To find out how well the comparison chassis can cool the AMD-flavoured build, we log CPU temperature while encoding a large 4K video clip using the popular HandBrake software utility. This task puts heavy load on all available CPU cores and we extend the stress test by queueing multiple passes. In order to provide a stabilised reading we then calculate an average temperature from the last few minutes of encoding.

To get an idea of graphics-card cooling performance, we log GPU temperature while looping the F1 2017 benchmark at a 4K resolution with ultra quality settings. Last but not least, we also measure chassis noise by using a PCE-318 noise meter to take readings both when idle and while gaming. The meter is positioned 35cm from the front of the chassis in a direct line of sight 30cm from the ground.

All chassis are tested only with the standard manufacturer-supplied fans (any/all of which are set to a low-noise curve in the MSI BIOS or low-speed using a fan controller if present), and to take into account the fluctuating ambient temperature, our graphs depict both actual and delta temperature - the latter is the actual CPU/GPU temperature minus the ambient.